
Rip Off @ MindSay 
I had followed a link in another mindsayers post many months ago and entered an on-line photo contest at
www.photo.com . Then I promptly forgot about it - it was a monthly contest and obviously I didn't get a notification so didn't get selected for my photo of a windmill in Texas :
>
So today, imagine my surprise when I thought I had received an early Christmas gift!
A notification letter in the U.S. mail from the International Library of Photography ( aka photo dot com )saying my pic had been chosen for publication!!
It included a form to give them permission to publish, a promise of a copywrite notice to accompiany the picture, a sample of my photo, right there in the letter, wow! And the proposed name of the book of photos that was to be published in early 2008.
And that's not all! They listed the library of congress serial number for the book! AND told me I was still eligible to be selected from those in the book, for a prize ranging from a modest $25 medallion, to the $1,000 first place!
But wait! There's more! For a low, low, price, I could pen my own 'photographer's bio' to be published with my winning entry! And if all that isn't enough, I have first shot at buying the book at a low, low, pre-publication rate of ONLY $70 !!!
MY GOD!! (how expensive is that book gonna be if that's the discount price?)
But don't worry, they said, "BRUCE, you don't have to buy the book, your photo has already been selected for publication".
So, looking outdoors to my pickup truck, I clearly see it is NOT full of turnips, thus I couldn't have just fallen off it, and I googled.
*did you ever notice that without the ogle, googled spells GOD?*
I digress.
This outfit has been running this scam legally since 1999!
http://www.betterphoto.com/forms/QnAdetail.asp?threadID=12825
http://www.acecam.com/photography/11077.html
They apparently manage to repay disgruntled ripped off customers so the multitude of Better Business Bureau complaints against the Owings Mills, Maryland company must get recorded as settled. But think of the millions they must get every year from people falling for this overt expensive form of vanity publishing. Oh yes, they do occasionally publish a book, and some people in various forums say they have received it, and it does contain their photo. But people, SEVENTY DOLLARS????? To get ONE picture published??????
You know, if this company was legit, they could actually make a decent living by being honest, soliciting photos, and publishing them in book form with the pre-order payment of the contributors. They could sell it to them at cost and then maybe even sell it on-line as a product with NO complaints against it that would encourage more photog wannabes to get in on the next publications.
In my letter, they call it Endless Journeys - the title they used according to some people who complained way back in 2003 ! They also use the same ISBN # 0-7591-5247-7 that they have used for years and years (it is different from the books that they really have published).
One response to the HUNDREDS of on-line complaints suggest going to Kodak.com and arranging to publish your OWN book of photos. I haven't researched that yet, but really, wouldn't THAT be worth a hundred bucks? To have a coffee table book filled with nothing but your OWN great photos? Look into it, and please, please, please, don't fall for this photo.com scam.
OK, I looked into it for you (your welcome). Kodak photobooks two styles, one $30 one $70 - the Legacy is the more expensive, 12" x 14" hardbound with a leather cover, 10 single print pages, or 20 double sided pages (40 pictures!) , that can be increased up to 40 single side, or 80 double side (uncertain of the costs of the larger page counts). And right now? Offering 20% off AND free shipping!
http://www.kodakgallery.com/PhotoBookOverview.jsp
But I guess as long as photo.com can trick people into throwing money away on a product that may never even be published, they will continue to do so.
I'm still looking for an apartment. My dad has given me until next friday to move out.
I just discovered what I think has to be one of the worst scams in th thw world- application fees.
I went and looked at a nice apartment (but small with a poor floor plan, the bathroom door is in the bedroom and it has a teeny-tiny kitchen) near my house. The rent isn't that bad, $450 a month plus electric. So, I may take it.
But when I applied they asked for a fuckin' $35 "application fee". I first asked if they would be willing to wave it, they said no. So, I reluctantly paid $35 just to fill out and turn in the application.
What a damn rip off! Why isn't that illegal? I mean charging me for that when I should be the one sking the questions and making demands, hell I'm leasing the place. They get almost a whole days pay for reading a piece of paper. What a god damn scheme.
I better get this place because that just isn't right if they don't.
Ok, that's my rant.
Thanks for reading,
Mark M.
When someone only changes TWO fucking words? Do you know how badly that makes one feel?
It's sad when thiefs can't even rephrase what they steal.


